Skip to main content

Canadian Permanent Residents & Dual Citizens Confirmed Exempt from U.S. Travel Ban

To Canada

The Canadian federal government has cleared up confusion surrounding a U.S. travel ban on citizens of seven predominantly Muslim countries by announcing that Canadian citizens and permanent residents with roots in those countries can still cross the U.S. border.

Canadian Immigration Minister Ahmed Hussen stated on Sunday, Jan. 29, that the White House has given assurances that permanent residents of Canada can enter the U.S. provided they have a valid Canadian permanent resident card and passport from one of the seven affected countries. He also stated that the White House confirmed that dual citizens with a Canadian passport are allowed into the U.S. as well.

The confusion stemmed from an Executive Order signed last Friday by U.S. President Donald Trump, which stated that people from Iran, Iraq, Sudan, Somalia, Syria, Yemen and Libya would be barred entry to the U.S. for three months.

It was initially unclear Saturday whether Canadians who are also citizens of the affected countries would be allowed to cross the U.S. border, as the State Department said that dual citizens were included in the ban. Canadian Immigration Minister Hussen held a news conference in Ottawa, Canada on Sunday to clear up the confusion created by the American ban.

Minister Hussen also revealed that there are around 35,000 dual citizens of Canada and the countries specified by the Trump administration.

Berardi Immigration Law is dedicated to closely following the Executive Orders and providing the most up-to-date immigration news. We will continue to provide updates on this matter as they arise.